Friday 25 June 2021 (UAE)

Schengen Visa Abu Dhabi Dubai UAE

Coronavirus in the UAE: Some information on this website is out of date as a result of measures taken in the UAE to deal with the coronavirus crisis. Confirm with official or authoritative sources.

Schengen visa requirements for Europe from Abu Dhabi, Dubai, UAE

This page under development, assume all information unconfirmed. Check with an official source to confirm anything written here. Especially any text in red which usually refers to a rumour or random comment not yet checked.

This information applies mostly to expat residents in the UAE. From early 2014 it is expected that UAE nationals will be included in the list of Schengen visa exemption countries (news reports 15 Dec 2013, 05 Feb 2014). The waiver will only apply to UAE citizens, not expat residents.

For Schengen visa applications in the UAE; Abu Dhabi and Al Ain residents should go to the VFS Global Schengen Visa Center or an embassy in Abu Dhabi, and residents of Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah (RAK), Sharjah, Umm Al Quwain (UAQ) should go to the VFS Global Schengen Visa center or consulate in Dubai.

A Schengen visa is a visa which entitles the holder to unrestricted travel in European Union (EU) countries which have signed up to the Schengen Visa agreement. Not all EU countries have signed up to the Schengen Visa, and the Schengen Zone includes countries which are not part of the EU.

Schengen visa exemption for UAE nationals (not expat residents)
List of countries that are part of the Schengen Visa zone, and some that are not, or not yet

All European countries included. Our definition of a European country includes EU members, countries considering applying for EU membership, any country up to the western border of Russia, Russia, the Balkan and/or ex Yugoslavian countries, Turkey, any other country that might be considered a part of Europe in our opinion.

Country Schengen Date1 EU2 EU Date4 Notes
Albania6       Short-stay only6
Andorra No5      
Austria 1997      
Belarus No Schengen Visa      
Belgium 1995      
Bosnia-Herzegovina6       Short-stay only6
Bulgaria9 requested, 2012?   2007 Jan 01  
Croatia7 > 2016   2013 Jul 01 Multi entry Schengen visas ok
Cyprus requested   2004  
Czech Republic 2007   2004  
Denmark 2001     Some exceptions?
England3 see UK      
Estonia 2007   2004  
Finland 2001      
France 1995      
Germany 1995      
Greece 2000      
Holland see Netherlands      
Hungary 2007   2004  
Iceland 2001 No Not EU10  
Ireland (Eire)3 No Schengen Visa      
Italy 1997      
Kosovo No Schengen Visa      
Latvia 2007   2004  
Liechtenstein 20118?   Not EU  
Lithuania 2007   2004  
Luxembourg 1995      
Macedonia6       Short-stay only6
Malta 2007   2004  
Moldova No Schengen Visa     Moldovans visa-free in Schengen 28 Apr 2014
Montenegro6       Short-stay only6
Netherlands 1995      
Northern Ireland3 see UK      
Norway 2001 No Not EU  
Poland 2007   2004  
Portugal 1995      
Romania9 requested, 2012?   2007 Jan 01  
Russia No Schengen Visa      
San Marino No5      
Scotland3 see UK      
Serbia6       Short-stay only6
Slovakia 2007   2004  
Slovenia 2007   2004  
Spain 1995      
Sweden 2001      
Switzerland 2008 Dec No Not EU  
Turkey No Schengen Visa     EU membership under discussion
Ukraine No Schengen Visa      
United Kingdom (UK)3 No Schengen Visa      
Vatican City        
Wales3 see UK      
  1. Date country first implemented Schengen Visa agreement
  2. Member of European Union (EU)
  3. Countries in grey text are part of the EU but not part of the Schengen visa zone, and a separate visa is required.
  4. Date which country joined the EU.
  5. Andorra, Liechtenstein, San Marino are not part of the Schengen area but do not have border checks (BBC news 26 April 2011).
  6. Short-stay (up to 90 days) Schengen Visa requirement has been lifted for nationals (not residents or visitors) from Albania (from December 2010?), Bosnia-Herzegovina (Hercegovina) (from December 2010?), Macedonia (from 19 December 2009), Montenegro (from 19 December 2009), and Serbia (but not residents of Kosovo who have Serbian passports issued by the Coordination Directorate in Belgrade) (from 19 December 2009) who have biometric passports. Nationals of Kosovo still need to apply for a Schengen Visa.
  7. Croatian citizens (rather than residents or visitors) do not need a visa to travel to Schengen Area countries since 1999? Biometric passports required?
  8. On 07 March 2011, the EU approved the integration of Liechtenstein into the Schengen area. Application and removal of border controls will still take another 6-10 months from this date. However, for all practial purposes, there are no or few border controls anyway (some video cameras in lieu of checkpoints and border guards apparently).
  9. As of January 2011, requests by Bulgaria and Romania to join the Schengen area have been denied or postponed, possibly until October 2011.
  10. Iceland applied for EU membership on 17 July 2009, but as of Jun 2013 has suspended (or withdrawn - depending on which news report you read) its application.
List of nationalities - countries whose citizens need a Schengen visa
VFS Global visa application centers UAE, Dubai Visa Processing Center (DVPC)
Schengen visa applications at VFS Global joint visa application centers
Schengen visa UAE and other European countries (Abu Dhabi and Dubai - see also separate headings below)
Schengen visa Abu Dhabi
Schengen visa Dubai
Schengen visa for Italy, applications in Dubai, important update June 2013
General Schengen visa in Dubai information continued

This information also applies (usually) to residents of the Northern Emirates - Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain (UAQ), Ras Al Khaimah (RAK), Fujairah. Abu Dhabi (includes Al Ain, Western Region, Al Gharbiya, Ruwais, etc) residents should apply to VFS Global in Abu Dhabi, the embassy in Abu Dhabi, or the nearest embassy for the UAE.

Joint Visa Application Center Dubai (JVAC) - Wafi Center, Dubai
Joint Visa Application Center Dubai (JVAC) - Al Mina Road, Dubai (information left for archive, no longer valid)
Schengen visa cost in UAE
Terms used
Last update Friday 21-Aug-2015. Page development 1H 2T 3D 4L 5C.
Related pages
Related websites (new window)
Sponsored links (PDF and print version).

Abu Dhabi AUH ABD ADB, Ajman AJM, Al Ain AAN, Dubai DXB, Fujairah FUJ, Ras Al Khaimah RAK, Sharjah SHJ, Umm Al Quwain UAQ

DubaiFAQs UAE information guide. Copyright © 2004-2021, Dubai, UAE - United Arab Emirates | blog | Facebook | Twitter |